Siraj, Iyer included for NZ T20Is, Vijay returns for Lanka Tests

Mohammed Siraj

Mohammed Siraj

Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer was named in the Indian cricket team T20I squad against New Zealand and with the 22-year-old proving his worth in the domestic circuit for quite some time now, it was perhaps a justified inclusion ahead of the three-match series. Ashish Nehra has been named in the squad only for the first game following his announcement to retire after the first T20 game in Delhi.

It should be noted that the Men in Blue have never beaten New Zealand in a T20I in five head-to-head games. "Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj", MSK Prasad, the chief of the selection panel, said.

"Shreyas has been prolific in all forms of the game, be it a four-day format, be it one-day or T20, be it IPL, he has been performing". If we pick a player, we will give him an extended run and we will continue with him for some point and nurture him and see that he goes on to become successful. The major highlight being the two new faces included in the squad - Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj. India are set to play three T20Is after the completion of the ongoing ODI series. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well". He also did well for India A during the series in Australia, South Africa and recently against New Zealand A. Prasad also made it clear that Nehra would be not assured of a starting spot in his farewell match with that decision being left up to the team management.

Macron's dog pees on Elysée Palace fireplace as cameras roll
The dog had apparently become depressed after moving into a smaller living space and repeatedly attacked Chirac. In France, there is a tradition of presidents owning a dog , and Nemo has become a trusted companion of Marcon.

THE BCCI announced the squad for the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand. There is no assurance from our side that he's going to play or not.

"We are monitoring the workload of the players, rotational policy will also apply to the captain, but he is available for the Test series".

Test Squad (2 matches): Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandra Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohamed Shami, Unmesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.