James Beard Award semifinalists: 6 Arizona chefs, restaurants nominated for 2017 awards

Joe and Katy Kindred

Joe and Katy Kindred

This morning, the James Beard Foundation released its list of 2017 James Beard Award semifinalists, which are widely regarded as the most coveted culinary awards in the U.S. Chase's Daily in Belfast and Fore Street in Portland are perennial nominees in the Outstanding Restaurant category, which requires that a restaurant be at least 10 years old.

Meanwhile, the James Beard Foundation once again honored Scott Anderson of Princeton's Elements, Joey Baldino of Collingswood's Zeppoli and Dan Richer of Jersey City's Razza Pizza Artigianale of Jersey City with nominations for best chef Mid-Atlantic. Redzikowksi and Seidel were also nominated in this category past year, along with Work & Class chef/partner Dana Rodriguez.

Today, the committee for the esteemed dining award announced its semifinalists.

Des Moines restaurateur Jason Simon earned a "Best Chef: Midwest" nomination in 2011.

Finalists for this year's James Beard Awards will be announced March 15th, while winners will be made public on May 1 in NY.

Rat-Borne Leptospirosis Infection Kills One in NYC
She added, "There's a lack of concern about the building, there's a lack of concern with the super and the landlord". Additionally, washing hands thoroughly after any contact with areas where rats may have urinated is recommended.

"We are very down-to-earth, we are not very fancy", Fukuyoshi tells NJ.com, crediting her loyal staff and chefs and their devotion to the restaurant's longtime clientele. Some remaining awards will be announced May 1 at the James Beard Foundation Awards Gala at the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

Watch as Alba chef Joe Tripp, who has been named a 2016 James Beard Foundation Awards semifinalist for the Midwest region, prepares a tasting menu for customers at the East Village eatery in Des Moines.

The list of semifinalists for the prestigious James Beard Awards has been announced. Finalists will be announced on March 15; the awards ceremony is scheduled for May 1.

Voters consist of a volunteer panel of more than 600 judges from across the country, including local critics, culinary educators, and past winners. There are no cash prizes.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.